So today’s post is brought to you byyyyyy- functionality!

Yes, it’s true, I’m feeling functional today. Which in my version of the world means that I was able to get out of bed and stay out of bed and do a few things in the day. Considering that only yesterday I literally spent the whole day in the safety of my bed, I’m rather ecstatic. Pardon the rant but y’all I’m so Proud of myself!

So bragging and self-celebrating aside, what survival skillz do I have for you today? Well, I have one that was contributed by a great friend of mine, and on the topic of beds no less! Yay, beds!

Skillz #4 : if you can’t wash your bedsheets, dust them down and spray them with vinegar.

Holy crap, y’all, this tip works on so many levels. Let’s break it down.

  • Dusting off your bed (which will be easy because you probably don’t make it every morning anyways, if ever) will remove any dust tracked on by the furry critters you cuddle with. It will also help ensure that there are no sharp objects, markers (leftover from coloring in bed all day), or crumbs (snacks in bed anyone? Hell yeah!) in your bed. This will maintain a modest level of cleanliness and tidiness. Once that is done you…
  • Spray vinegar on them! If you don’t have a bottle of vinegar, just make yourself one right away. Get an empty spray bottle from the gardening section, fill it up, and spoosh spoosh all over your bed. Why? Vinegar is basically a cleaner. It cuts grease, kills mold, deodorizes, etc. So basically, you kinda wash your sheets and freshen them up. Why is this so important?
  • Beds are a private affair. A lot of us derive comfort from hugging pillows, hiding under blankets, etc. But especially if you have night terrors or nightmares they’re probably due for a wash. Do you necessarily always have the energy for that? … Maybe not. Buuut- Taking care of our beds is a form of self-care. Unlike dishes, which are a visible marker of functionality, beds are a quasi-invisible one. Only we feel the difference between a fresh bed and a not so fresh one. So by freshening up your bed with a dusting and vinegar, you ensure that you can rest well both from the reflex of ‘ahhh, this feels good’ of fresh sheets, but also because you know that they’re clean. You’ll relieve that stress of ‘oh, I really should have washed my sheets today.’. So this is both physical and mental self-care, y’all.

So that’s it. Wash your sheets in a machine as often as possible, and freshen them up with vinegar and a good dusting when you just can’t cope with washing them.

Whew. That was long. Anyone have any crazy bed-related stories? Any tips/words of wisdom related to bedclothes?

Heheh, I have one funny story. My present doctor once asked me if I did my bed in the morning. I froze and stared at her, wondering if it was an actual question. I seriously didn’t think young adults were expected to make their beds anymore. “Who makes their beds in the morning?!” I was thinking as I gawked at her. Haha, she wasn’t joking. It was a real question. Oops.

